Avvo - Rate your Lawyer. Get Free Legal Advice.

© 2023 by The Stone Law Firm.Proudly created with Wix.com

FOLLOW US:

  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean

Custodial Sexual Relations

Utah Code Section: 76-5-412

Elements

 

76-5-412.  Custodial sexual relations -- Custodial sexual misconduct -- Definitions

(1)As used in this section:(a)"Actor" means:

(i)a correctional officer, as defined in Section 53-13-104;

(ii)a special function officer, as defined in Section 53-13-105;

(iii)a law enforcement officer, as defined in Section 53-13-103; or

(iv)an employee of, or private provider or contractor for, the Department of Corrections or a county jail.

(b)"Person in custody" means an individual, either an adult 18 years of age or older, or a minor younger than 18 years of age, who is:

(i)a prisoner, as defined in Section 76-5-101, and includes a prisoner who is in the custody of the Department of Corrections created under Section 64-13-2, but who is being housed at the Utah State Hospital established under Section 62A-15-601 or other medical facility;

(ii)under correctional supervision, such as at a work release facility or as a parolee or probationer; or

(iii)under lawful or unlawful arrest, either with or without a warrant.

(c)"Private provider or contractor" means any person or entity that contracts with the Department of Corrections or with a county jail to provide services or functions that are part of the operation of the Department of Corrections or a county jail under state or local law.

(2)(a)An actor commits custodial sexual relations if the actor commits any of the acts under Subsection (3):

(i)under circumstances not amounting to commission of, or an attempt to commit, an offense under Subsection (6); and

(ii)

(A)the actor knows that the individual is a person in custody; or

(B)a reasonable person in the actor's position should have known under the circumstances that the individual was a person in custody.

 

 

Jail/Prison time, fines & restitution

 

Click for video

 

 

Prohibition of Firearms

Click for Video

 

 

Sex Offender Registration

 

 

Click for video

 

 

Defenses

Click for Video

 

 

DNA Specimen

Click for Video

 

 

 
Removal from Sex Offender Registry in 5 Years

Click for Video

 

There is a possibility of removal from the sex offender registry within 5 years of the termination of the sentence (the end of probation) under the following conditions:

 

The offender was convicted of:

(1) Kidnapping, and the conviction is the only conviction for which the offender is required to register;

(2) Unlawful Detention, and the conviction is the only conviction for which the offender is required to register;

(3) Unlawful sexual activity with a minor and, at the time of the offense, was not more than 10 years older than the victim; or

(4) Unlawful sexual conduct with a 16 or 17 year old, and at the time of the offense, was not more than 15 years older than the victim;

 

Requirements:

(b)five years have passed since the completion of the offender's sentence;

(c)the offender has successfully completed all treatment ordered by the court;

(i)the offender has not been convicted of any other crime, excluding traffic offenses, as evidenced by a certificate of eligibility issued by the bureau;

(ii) "Traffic offense" does not include a violation of Title 41, Chapter 6a, Part 5, Driving Under the Influence and Reckless Driving;

(e)the offender has paid all restitution ordered by the court;

(f)the offender has complied with all the registration requirements at all times as required in this chapter, as evidenced by a document obtained by the offender from the Utah Department of Corrections, which confirms compliance; and

(g)the office that prosecuted the offender, and the victim, or if the victim is still a minor, the victim's parent, are notified and provided with an opportunity to respond in accordance with Subsection (3)(a).